What is the step by step procedure to apply for Australian PR?

Recognize the steps to obtain permanent residency in Australia by 2022: Migration and visas can occasionally feel intimidating and difficult. But we’re here for a reason—this! Everything you need to know about Australia’s General Skilled Migration Program will be covered in this blog post.

How to migrate to Australia in 2023? – Step by step procedure to get the PR

To start, it’s imperative that you comprehend the several kind of migration visas offered in Australia:

  • Family visas are available to those who desire to live with their parents or children who are Australian citizens or permanent residents and who are in a relationship with one of them.
  • Visas for businesspeople and investors are available to persons who want to start a business or invest in a country.
  • Those with academic credentials and job experience who want to immigrate through their vocation are eligible for skilled visas. And in this piece, we’ll be discussing about these visas.
What is the Skilled Migration Program in Australia, and how does it work? 

The Australian Skilled Migration Program offers two routes:

Employer Visas 

This route, also known as sponsorship visas, necessitates that you obtain a job offer in Australia for a position that is pertinent to your history before you can apply for a visa.

There are two temporary visas under this stream: 

  • Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (Subclass 482)
  • Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 494)

And one permanent visa: 

  • Employer Nomination Permanent Visa (Subclass 186)
General Skilled Migration Visas

The General Skilled Migration Visas, often known as the “points tested visas,” are frequently mentioned when discussing skilled migration in Australia. Three visas are also included in this programme:

The permanent ones are:

  • Skilled Independent Permanent Visa (Subclass 189) 
  • Skilled Nominated Permanent Visa (Subclass 190)

And the temporary:

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (Subclass 491)
6 Steps to get Australian PR in 2022 – via the General Skilled Migration Program
1 – Check your eligibility

You must first determine which occupation, as defined by Australian Immigration, you fit under and which list this occupation is on. Make sure your profession is included on the list that corresponds to the visa for which you intend to apply because there are various lists for each of the aforementioned visas.

You cannot apply for a General Skilled Migration Visa if your profession is not listed on any of the lists for the three visas.

2 – Skills Assessment

Finding out if you would receive a favourable Skills Assessment from the agency that evaluates your occupation—also referred to as your “career validation or recognition”—is the second stage in obtaining PR in Australia.

Each occupation has its own Skills Assessment Authority. For example: 

  • Engineers – Engineers Australia
  • IT Professionals – Australian Computer Society (ACS)
  • Nurses – Australian Nursing & Midwifery Accreditation Council 
  • Marketing professionals – VETASSESS
  • And many others

Additionally, each Authority has its own standards for approving your skills evaluation, such as a specific level of English proficiency, job experience, and qualifications. Therefore, it is essential that you get familiar with the requirements of the skills assessment authority for your industry before you even begin to think about applying for a visa and investing time and money in this endeavour.

3 – Points test

Because the three skilled migration visas we mentioned (189, 190, and 491) are point-tested visas, you will have to satisfy certain requirements and accrue points for each category. The Department of Home Affairs can use this method to identify candidates who possess the qualities and talents they are seeking and to make a decision.

In order to file an Expression of Interest for one of those three visas, you must have a minimum of 65 points. The points are distributed among the following groups:

  • Age: 0 to 30 points, 18 years of age minimum to 45 years of age maximum.
  • Academic Qualifications: 0 to 20 points, depending on whether the person has a technical certificate/diploma, a Bachelor/Master Degree or a PhD.
  • Work Experience: 0 to 20 points, depending on how many years of work experience one has, if the experience is in the nominated occupation for migration, and if the experience was in Australia or other countries
  • Proficiency in English: all candidates must sit for an English exam and achieve a minimum score if seeking to claim points here. Points here are allocated 0-20 according to the English exam score. 
  • Study in Australia: 5 points if you studied in Australia for two years minimum and obtained a qualification that was at least at the level of a Diploma or a Trade Certificate.
  • Study in Low Population Areas of Australia: 5 or 10 extra points if your studies in Australia were undertaken in one of the Designated Regional Areas of Australia, as defined by the Government
  • Obtain accreditation in Australia as a translator of another language: 5 points
  • Skilled Spouse: 5 to 10 points if the applicant’s Spouse has a Skilled occupation and/or a minimum level of Competent English, which can be evidenced in different forms
  • Single Applicants: get 10 points to avoid being disadvantaged
  • Professional Year: 5 Points
  • Nomination/Sponsorship from an Australian State: 5 or 15 points, depending on the candidate’s profession, if a state or territory is seeking that profession, and if it is being sought for a temporary or permanent visa.
4 – English Test

Anyone applying for one of these visas and seeking permanent residency in Australia must provide proof that they have at least competent English, which equals six on each exam component. By taking an English test, you can accomplish that. IELTS, Cambridge, TOEFL, and PTE are accepted by Australian immigration. You won’t need to take a test if you are from the UK, US, Canada, Ireland, or New Zealand because it is assumed that you have Competent English in those countries.

If you need more than the required 65 points to be invited by SkillSelect, improving your English score is one way to do so: if you score 7 on each IELTS component, you will gain 10 points; if you score 8, 20 points.

5 – Expression of Interest

You cannot simply apply for a visa in Australia, even if you are eligible. Be it an Independent 189 visa, a regional 190 visa, or a 491 visa – which will cover states and territories as well – you must first be invited by the government.

You can apply to be invited by submitting an expression of interest through the SkillSelect system, which chooses applicants based on their performance on a points test. Due to the intense competition, you may want to aim for a score higher than the required minimum of 65 if you’re applying for an 189 visa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed